Close up of a keyboard.

Review: Slide Grease for Brass Instruments

A photo showing a stick of slide grease in the foreground and, out of focus in the background a jar of Vaseline and two small slides from a brass instrument.

Slide Grease for Brass Instruments, a seemingly absurd review but quite serious. If you play a brass instrument and are still using Vaseline (petroleum jelly) on your slides – as I was until quite recently – then it’s time to enter the 21st Century and switch to a proprietary product!

Grease sticks are small, odourless, quick and easy to apply, nowhere near as messy as Vaseline, and cheap! In addition, I feel that the grease doesn’t dry out as quickly as Vaseline, and therefore offers effective lubrication for longer.

After having been introduced to proprietary slide grease, I have no wish to return to using Vaseline.
 


c

Just arrived on this site:

May 29, 2017. New this month is a selection of six Royalty Free Radio Jingles.

April 30, 2017. After a half-year break from adding new material to this site, I've added an article / review on Headphone Holders.

Sept. 29, 2016. In the final part of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I show the finished product, and provide further information on cost, construction time and more.

Aug. 30, 2016. In Part 4 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I talk about stainng and varnishing.

July 12, 2016. This month, in Part 3 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I detail the construction process.

June 16, 2016. This month, in Part 2 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I look at the preparation needed..

May 30, 2016. This month sees the start of a series on how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk. Part 1 this month looks at the design process.

April 29, 2016. This month I have added a short article on Trumpet Psychology to the Musicians' Corner - an essential read for aspiring professionals.

March 29, 2016. This month the Selected CD Reviews section has been updated with four additional audio files.

Feb. 24, 2016. A new photo has been added to the Gallery of a Valentine's Day concert I played at this month, accompanying various artists.

Jan. 14, 2016. New in the Reviews section this month is a look at PMC's TB2 Nearfield Monitors.

_________________

Sometime Somewhere...

cd

A relaxing Smooth Jazz CD. Listen to extracts of all 12 tracks now.

 

Previously Arrived:

Items added to the site in 2015

Items added to the site in 2014

Items added to the site in 2013

Items added to the site in 2012

Items added to the site in 2011

Items added to the site in 2010

 

HOME    |    Site Map    |    Music    |    Contact