Close up of a keyboard.

Buddy Rich – Keep the Customer Satisfied

CD Cover - Buddy Rich, Keep the Customer Satisfied.

When youth had turned to disco in the 1970, Buddy Rich helped keep the big band sound alive. Keep the Customer Satisfied was recorded live in Las Vegas, in the early hours of the morning, and shows Buddy and his band at their best.

The album comprises big band jazz arrangements of familiar tunes – necessary, I would imagine, to ‘keep the customer satisfied’ – along with tunes written specifically for big band. And this is where my interest lies, particularly with a composition by Don Piestrup entitled Long Day’s Journey. The driving force behind this track alone, with Richie Cole soloing on alto and George Zonce on trumpet, makes the album worth owning.

Buddy Rich continued drumming until shortly before his death in 1987. He died of heart failure at the age 69, but not before he had left an indelible mark on jazz and drumming technique, plain to here is this recording.

 


c

Just arrived on this site:

May 29, 2017. New this month is a selection of six Royalty Free Radio Jingles.

April 30, 2017. After a half-year break from adding new material to this site, I've added an article / review on Headphone Holders.

Sept. 29, 2016. In the final part of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I show the finished product, and provide further information on cost, construction time and more.

Aug. 30, 2016. In Part 4 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I talk about stainng and varnishing.

July 12, 2016. This month, in Part 3 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I detail the construction process.

June 16, 2016. This month, in Part 2 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I look at the preparation needed..

May 30, 2016. This month sees the start of a series on how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk. Part 1 this month looks at the design process.

April 29, 2016. This month I have added a short article on Trumpet Psychology to the Musicians' Corner - an essential read for aspiring professionals.

March 29, 2016. This month the Selected CD Reviews section has been updated with four additional audio files.

Feb. 24, 2016. A new photo has been added to the Gallery of a Valentine's Day concert I played at this month, accompanying various artists.

Jan. 14, 2016. New in the Reviews section this month is a look at PMC's TB2 Nearfield Monitors.

_________________

Sometime Somewhere...

cd

A relaxing Smooth Jazz CD. Listen to extracts of all 12 tracks now.

 

Previously Arrived:

Items added to the site in 2015

Items added to the site in 2014

Items added to the site in 2013

Items added to the site in 2012

Items added to the site in 2011

Items added to the site in 2010

 

HOME    |    Site Map    |    Music    |    Contact