Close up of a keyboard.

Dusty Springfield – Nothing Has Been Proved

CD Jacket - Nothing Has Been Proved

Nothing Has Been Proved was written and produced by the Pet Shop Boys specifically for the 1989 film Scandal. The track reached No. 16 in the UK charts, drawing on the talents of veteran vocalist Dusty Springfield to sing this song describing the Perfumo political scandal of the '60s. Springfield’s performance exudes great style, but what really elevates this music to a level above that of a good pop song is the soprano saxophone solo near the end, played by the British saxophonist Courtney Pine. Unfortunately only the first part of this can be heard on the music video, which you can watch on YouTube, so you will need to buy the 12” or CD single to hear the solo in its entirety. I recently picked up my copy from eBay for a very reasonable ₤10.

The first half of the solo can be heard below, but only when you hear it in its entirety is it possible to fully appreciate its beauty.

 

 


c

Just arrived on this site:

May 29, 2017. New this month is a selection of six Royalty Free Radio Jingles.

April 30, 2017. After a half-year break from adding new material to this site, I've added an article / review on Headphone Holders.

Sept. 29, 2016. In the final part of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I show the finished product, and provide further information on cost, construction time and more.

Aug. 30, 2016. In Part 4 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I talk about stainng and varnishing.

July 12, 2016. This month, in Part 3 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I detail the construction process.

June 16, 2016. This month, in Part 2 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I look at the preparation needed..

May 30, 2016. This month sees the start of a series on how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk. Part 1 this month looks at the design process.

April 29, 2016. This month I have added a short article on Trumpet Psychology to the Musicians' Corner - an essential read for aspiring professionals.

March 29, 2016. This month the Selected CD Reviews section has been updated with four additional audio files.

Feb. 24, 2016. A new photo has been added to the Gallery of a Valentine's Day concert I played at this month, accompanying various artists.

Jan. 14, 2016. New in the Reviews section this month is a look at PMC's TB2 Nearfield Monitors.

_________________

Sometime Somewhere...

cd

A relaxing Smooth Jazz CD. Listen to extracts of all 12 tracks now.

 

Previously Arrived:

Items added to the site in 2015

Items added to the site in 2014

Items added to the site in 2013

Items added to the site in 2012

Items added to the site in 2011

Items added to the site in 2010

 

HOME    |    Site Map    |    Music    |    Contact