Close up of a keyboard.

Sarah Vaughan – Brazilian Romance

The 1987 album Brazilian Romance offers very much more than the traditional laidback bossa nova of Brazil. Sarah Vaughan is joined by an array of distinguished musicians – George Duke on keyboards, Alphonso Johnson on bass, and Paulinho Da Costa on percussion to name but a few – that all help make this album one that stands out from the crowd.

CD Jacket for Brazilian Romance

The 10 songs are beautifully arranged and sung, but one song in particular, for me, shines above the rest. Nothing Will Be As It Was has been covered by several vocalists and arranged in various styles, but nowhere have I heard such an electrifying arrangement and performance as the one found on this album. From the outset the intricate rhythm of the acoustic guitar and congas serve to introduce a track full of energy, with Ernie Watts’ alto sax playing ensuring the energy level remains high to the very end. As the song fades you are left wanting to hear more.

In spite of this being the last full album she recorded, Sarah Vaughan is at her very best and sings, as always, beautifully.

The example below is the opening of Nothing Will Be As It Was – in Portugese Nada SerĂ¡ Como Antes – composed by Milton Nascimento, Ronaldo Bastos, and Rene Vincent.

 


c

Just arrived on this site:

May 29, 2017. New this month is a selection of six Royalty Free Radio Jingles.

April 30, 2017. After a half-year break from adding new material to this site, I've added an article / review on Headphone Holders.

Sept. 29, 2016. In the final part of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I show the finished product, and provide further information on cost, construction time and more.

Aug. 30, 2016. In Part 4 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I talk about stainng and varnishing.

July 12, 2016. This month, in Part 3 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I detail the construction process.

June 16, 2016. This month, in Part 2 of how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk, I look at the preparation needed..

May 30, 2016. This month sees the start of a series on how to design and build a DIY Music Production Desk. Part 1 this month looks at the design process.

April 29, 2016. This month I have added a short article on Trumpet Psychology to the Musicians' Corner - an essential read for aspiring professionals.

March 29, 2016. This month the Selected CD Reviews section has been updated with four additional audio files.

Feb. 24, 2016. A new photo has been added to the Gallery of a Valentine's Day concert I played at this month, accompanying various artists.

Jan. 14, 2016. New in the Reviews section this month is a look at PMC's TB2 Nearfield Monitors.

_________________

Sometime Somewhere...

cd

A relaxing Smooth Jazz CD. Listen to extracts of all 12 tracks now.

 

Previously Arrived:

Items added to the site in 2015

Items added to the site in 2014

Items added to the site in 2013

Items added to the site in 2012

Items added to the site in 2011

Items added to the site in 2010

 

HOME    |    Site Map    |    Music    |    Contact